Hawaii County Democrats
Aloha and welcome to the Democratic Party of Hawai'i County Website

Hawai'i County Committee Convention

Date: Saturday, April 30, 2016
Location: Palamanui Campus of the Hawai'i Community College in Kona
Time: 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.

County Convention registration for delegates, alternates, students and observers closes at 6 pm, Thursday, April 28. Those individuals registering online who chose the check option, and whose check arrives after the Thursday deadline must pay a $5 late fee (a total of $35 for Delegates/Alternates and $25 for Students/Observers) when checking in on Saturday if their check did not arrive.

There will be NO WALK IN registration on the day of the convention. We must tell our caterers how many meals to prepare in advance and we need to know a head count for seating, etc. Please also remember to print out copies of the Draft Resolutions, Draft Platform, and Draft Rules and bring them with you as we will not have paper copies available.

MAHALO - both to everyone who is planning to participate and especially to those party members who have put in many volunteer hours to prepare for this gathering of like-minded friends. We look forward to Saturday being a great day for moving forward our Democratic values and agenda!

Delegates and Alternates will receive an email from the County Chair with their registration information.
If you do not receive the email, contact your District Chair

Online registration for the Hawaii County Democratic Party's annual convention will open on Monday April 18, 2016 at 6:00 PM. Each delegate from the Big Island's seven districts will be given a password to access the registration form and remit payment by PayPal or by mailing a check to the party's post office box in Hilo. The registration fee is $30.00 for delegates and $20.00 for Observers. Registration fees include continental breakfast and a boxed lunch.
To be a delegate to the Hawaii County Convention, you must contact your District Chair. Contact information for all seven District Chairs can be found on the home page. District Chairs should compile their delegate lists and submit them to the County Chair for advance credentialing by Saturday April 16. Registration closes Thursday April 28 at 6:00 PM. All attendees, delegates and observers, must register online and remit the appropriate fee in advance.
Enthusiasm for March's Presidential Preference Poll swelled the ranks of our local Democratic Party membership. Participation at this year's convention could reach unprecedented numbers. This promises a unique and exciting convention, but a simple caveat is necessary. The event takes place in Kona at HCC's new Palamanui Campus, which welcomed students for the first time in August 2015. The facility is quite brand new and just the first of four phases of construction is complete. West Hawaii residents are eager to showcase the new campus, but apologize in advance if conditions are still rough around the edges. That very morning, students will be planting trees around campus. Space could be limited and the elements could be immediately at hand. It could be warm, wet, sunny or windy and the room is kind of small. The pre-convention gathering of April 9 yielded thoughtful revisions to the Hawaii County Democratic Party's existing Platform and Rules, and a set of twelve Resolutions for delegates to consider. Delegates will vote to adopt or reject these items as proposed. The Rules, Resolutions and Platform documents are available on this website for review before the convention. Please print copies as needed. Regarding proposed Platform or Rules additions/revisions or Resolutions submitted after April 9, current County rules say: “Delegates may submit proposals for consideration by providing 150 copies of proposed changes or actions in the prescribed format to the respective Committees up to one-half hour after the close or Registration. Proposals submitted may be considered, subject to time available, at the discretion of the Chair.” Once presented on the convention floor, delegates may speak for or against the Platform, Resolutions and Rules before the vote is called. Once recognized by the chair, delegates must limit their comments to one minute and open by stating “Mr. Chair, I speak in [support of] or [opposition to] this [rule] or [resolution].” Voting is conducted by simple majority rule, using voice or hand-held ballots.
Democratic Party candidates for office will address the delegation at various times throughout the convention. Any Democrat running for County, State or Federal office received an invitation to participate according to a specific fee scale. Campaign materials and banners will be displayed as provided by candidates, and delegates and observers will have a chance to meet candidates and incumbents. We can all agree that 2016 promises to be an exciting election year!
The HCC Palamanui campus is located at 73-1025 Kaiminani Drive in Kailua-Kona.From the Daniel K. Inouye highway, turn LEFT onto HI-190 and drive 25+ miles. Turn right on Kaiminani Drive (Kona Palisades—you will see Matsuyama Store mauka of the intersection.) Drive all the way down the hill and turn right at the Kona Palisades Community Center. The campus is about a mile north of this intersection and uphill on the right. If you are coming from south or north on Queen Kaahumanu, turn mauka on Kaiminani Drive at the intersection about a mile south of the Kona Airport and take the third left at the Kona Palisades Community Center.


Css Style Input Type Button by Web-Buttons.com v3.0.0
Position  Name email
County Chair  Phil Barnes Hawaii County Democrats
East Hawaii Vice Chair  John Ervin   Hawaii County Democrats
West Hawaii Vice Chair Barbara Dalton Hawaii County Democrats
Secretary Gretchen Klungness Hawaii County Democrats
Assistant Secretary Brandy Lonokapu Hawaii County Democrats
Treasurer Amy Miwa  Hawaii County Democrats
Assistant Treasurer Jay Kimura Hawaii County Democrats
District Chairs:    
District 1  Michael Janovsky Hawaii County Democrats 
District 2  Micah Alameda Hawaii County Democrats 
District 3  Raina Dale Hawaii County Democrats 
District 4  Frankie Stapleton   Hawaii County Democrats 
District 5  Steve Sakala Hawaii County Democrats 
District 6  Franz Weber Hawaii County Democrats 
District 7  Patti Cook  Hawaii County Democrats 
CLICK HERE Complete List of Hawaii County Committee 
Hawaii County Democrats
County Democrats name Barnes chairman at convention
2016 Presidential Preference Poll
Who is a member of the Democratic Party.
Hawaii County Democratic Party
2014 Hawai'i County Democratic Party Platform
2012 Hawai'i County Democratic Party Platform
2014 Hawai'i County Democratic Party Resolution
2012 Hawai'i County Democratic Party Resolution
Bylaws and Rules of the Hawaii County Committee
© 2004-2016 Hawaii County Democrats. All Rights Reserved, Designed and maintained by Tradewind Consulting